If you’ve ever watched the HBO series “The Wire“, you’ll appreciate the beauty of the name “Re-Up” for a food cart that claims to sell addictive food. And if you have a hankering for delicious pulled pork, you’ll appreciate the beauty of the Re-Up BBQ Food Cart.

I gave the Georgia West and Hornby branch of this rolling pulled pork palace a try a few days ago for lunch.  I showed up nice and early (around 11:30am) and had no trouble getting served in two shakes of a pig’s tail by Re-Up’s uber-friendly cart guru.

What struck me immediately about Re-Up is its simplicity, from its toaster-like exterior to its humble menu.  Without all the frills, it seems that the cart’s focus is on what counts:  Food.  As such, I ordered the pulled pork sandwich that made Re-Up famous.

At $7, this meal is a good deal.  Though you might argue that you could get a soup, sandwich and a double-double at another lunch place, I can assure you that the girth and volume of Re-Up’s signature dish makes it a meal in itself.

Though I’ve read reviews that exalt the moistness of the pork, I found it to be just a smidge on the dry side.  Perhaps Re-Up was having an off day, or perhaps the pork  used happened not to be the usual kind.  As anyone who has ever made ribs can attest, it’s a delicate balance between extracting the essence of pork’s flavour by cooking it low and slow enough, and overcooking it.  Meh…I’m probably being too picky.

In any event, any dryness in the pork was counter balanced by that crackerjack Re-Up sauce which was a study on complimentary contrasts.  It was smokey yet light, sweet yet sour.  What accentuated it even more was the use of wonderfully seasoned ‘slaw to take this sloppy sandwich some crunch.

Holding it all together was a simple, white bun.  Though at first I thought the bun was the weakest part of my lunch, I began to think that its slight dryness was meant to sop up the medley of BBQ sauce, ‘slaw seasoning, and residual pork juices.  Damn.  Just thinking about that makes me hungry…

Overall, this is a solid food cart, with good service, good food, and has good value.  I will definitely go back and recommend you give Re-Upa go.

Re-Up BBQ Foodcart on Urbanspoon