Feastro the Rolling Bistro“, the Vancouver food truck, is something to behold.  The truck is big, its food is bold, and the flavours it dishes out bang on.

I wandered down to Feastro (roughly on the corner of Thurlow and West Cordova) on Friday and the first thing I noticed was the line up snaking out from its order/pick-up window.  This was a good sign.

Feastro is a Beastro

As I waited in the glorious sun, I reviewed the menu.  Feastro offers a number of different dishes, but its menu is loyal to its core ingredients – fresh seafood.  Being in the mood for salty and savoury, I opted for their prawn and grilled prosciutto taco.  My order was taken quickly and communicated to the 2 or 3 cooks working in the tight quarters that is the Feastro’s kitchen.

This may sound nerdy, but I was truly amazed at Feastro’s ordering and food delivery system.  Despite the fact that orders streamed in relentlessly, the kitchen managed to pump out the whole range of items on its menu in a quick, organized, clean, accurate, and beautiful way.

I have to give Feastro massive bonus points for pushing the boundaries of what food truck fare can be.  Sure, you might have to wait 3-5 minutes for your food (and some reviewers groan about this) but when you think of what you’re actually getting its quite astonishing.  And this brings me back to my taco.

My punchy little taco sunning itself at Coal Harbour

Though I’ve added a photo of my taco to this blog to give you a sense of the dish, sadly it does not do justice to the look of my lunch.  The prawns were nicely seasoned, had a great bite (from being brined, I wonder?), and were the centre of the various flavours contained in this dish:  The prosciutto added the salt and a bit of chewiness, the arugula and other greens the pepperiness, and the salsa and lime juice the citrus-zing, and the fried onions added some crunch.

Feastro’s kitchen was not shy about portions.  The taco hardly fit on my plate and I had to thin out some of the ingredients before I could wrap them up in the lovely soft shell.  The dish ran me $8, which is very good value compared to the other Vancouver food trucks and when you consider the care that went into this meal.

My experience at Feastro was a very positive one and I would highly recommend that you take advantage of the last few glorious weeks of Vancouver summer weather and head down to Thurlow and West Cordova for some Feastro goodness.

Feastro the Rolling Bistro on Urbanspoon

